Piney River Brewing Company

The Piney River Brewer’s Wife

In The Beer on October 2, 2011 at 6:51 pm

On our end of the river, this brewer’s wife is nanny, maid, cook, accountant, sensory panel, brewery hostess and the ever important keg cleaner.  This brewery’s wife also has an avid interest in craft beer; after all, I always said I didn’t like beer until (many years ago) I tasted a Fat Tire by  New Belgium and said, “Mmm…that’s good.”

The success of Piney River Brewing Company has been in large part to the fact that Brian and I are willing to work together side-by-side to do whatever needs to be done to make our dream of owning a microbrewery a reality.  That side-by-side work does not involve me doing the brewing.

This weekend found us without our six-year old son, and with most of the household chores behind us, I proposed that I brew up a seasonal beer we had discussed.  The beer included a key ingredient that was my idea.

Right now, every fermentation vessel we own is full of beer with the exception of one of our 15-barrel tanks.  If we were going to do this, it was going to be time to break out the old home brewing carboys.  No problem.  Brian was game.  In fact, he even mentioned that he would love for me to learn how to brew on the Sabco so we could brew side by side and relieve some of the beer demand pressure that he feels frequently as the sole brewer at Piney River Brewing.  I asked Brian who would serve as nanny, maid, banker, cook, etc. if I took on additional brewing duties. Since nobody really sprang to mind, my Sunday on the Sabco is probably going to happen about once in a harvest moon.

However, here’s how it went down….

I helped Brian measure the grain while the water for the brew heated.

Getting ready to add the grain.

Some of the grain going in.

Mashing in.

A heavenly smelling mash.

While the beer was in the boil kettle, I even had time to clean eight kegs.

We started brewing about 11 a.m., and I was shocked when I looked at the clock and saw that is was almost 2:30 p.m.  Time flew by!  Brian explained that when he’s brewing he’s always amazed at how quickly six hours can zip by in a flash.  Let me tell you, when you’re cooking and cleaning and banking, time doesn’t fly that fast!

I’m pleased to say that we hit our target gravity, and at the start of things, this brew appears to have a lot of great and interesting beer qualities.

I took special pride in feeding our girlfriends the grain from my brew.

The girls came running from the field when they heard the Ranger fire up.

Happy cow!

So, you may be wondering what kind of beer the brewer’s wife brewed up…well, that’s going to remain a secret for now.  We’re going to have a little fun on our Piney River Brewing Facebook page with this.  What I can tell you is that it’s a beer that has not been made at Piney River Brewing Company before.

We will have this specialty beer on tap at the BARn on Sat., Oct. 22nd.  And here I am with a photo of the sweet wort.

Cheers!

  1. […] this blog post?  This is the one where I (Joleen) decided to brew a little beer.  It was an experiment.  Not […]

Leave a Reply

